Skip to product information
1 of 8

Arcane Offerings

The Collected Macabre Stories of L.P. Hartley (Tartarus Press, 2023) Two Hardcover Volumes in a Slipcase

The Collected Macabre Stories of L.P. Hartley (Tartarus Press, 2023) Two Hardcover Volumes in a Slipcase

Regular price $90.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $90.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

L.P. Hartley. The Collected Macabre StoriesIntroduction by Mark Valentine. Leyburn: Tartarus Press, 2023. Two sewn hardbacks of 276+xiv and 289 pages, printed lithographically, with head and tailbands, and d/w. In a slipcase. 350 sets printed.

Condition: As New books in a Very Good slipcase. Slightly bumped corner on slipcase (see photos).

Description from the publisher: "This new Tartarus Press edition is published as two hardback volumes in a slipcase.

Perhaps best known for his ‘perfectly realised’ novel of Edwardian childhood The Go-Between, L.P. Hartley was also a much admired adept of the macabre short story. Hartley was no dilettante in the genre: he was well-versed in its long and distinguished tradition, and these carefully crafted tales represent some of the most successful attempts to carry the ghost story into the twentieth century.

As Mark Valentine points out in his perceptive Introduction to this collection, ‘Hartley said the ghost story was “in revolt against a materialistic conception of the universe” but also that it must have “a natural as well as a supernatural interest”; “humanity must pervade” both the haunter and the haunted; ghost stories should not be “merely literary exercises in making one’s flesh creep”. These observations demonstrate that Hartley saw the form as important and worthwhile: indeed he called it “If not the highest . . . certainly the most exacting form of literary art”.’

The Collected Macabre Stories includes thirty-seven of Hartley’s best tales, ranging from the well-known, traditional ghost stories ‘The Cotillon’ and ‘Feet Foremost’, through the dark humour of ‘The Travelling Grave’ and ‘The Killing Bottle’ to the Aickmanesque ‘The Pylon’. These encompass a wide range of settings, from English Country Houses to Venetian Palaces. Two accomplished fantasies, ‘Conrad and the Dragon’ and ‘The Crossways’ display Hartley’s range and versatility. Taken as a whole, the collection represents one of the most impressive achievements of twentieth-century macabre fiction."


Volume One: Introduction by Mark Valentine/ From the Introduction to Lady Cynthia Asquith’s Third Ghost Book/ A Visitor from Down Under/ Podolo/ Three, or Four, for Dinner/ The Travelling Grave/ Feet Foremost/ The Cotillon/ A Change of Ownership/ The Thought/ Conrad and the Dragon/ The Island/ Night Fears/ The Killing Bottle/ A Summons/ W.S./ The Two Vaynes/ Monkshood Manor

Volume Two: Two for the River/ Someone in the Lift/ The Face/ The Corner Cupboard/ The Waits/ The Pampas Clump/ The Crossways/ Per Far L’Amore/ Interference/ The Pylon/ Mrs Carteret Receives/ Fall in at the Double/ Paradise Paddock/ Roman Charity/ Pains and Pleasures/ Please Do Not Touch/ Home Sweet Home/ The Shadow on the Wall/ The Sound of Voices/ Mrs G. G./ The Stain on the Chair


Shipping & Returns

Free shipping (USPS Media Mail).

Usually ships within one business day upon receiving cleared payment.

Refunds honored up to 30 days after delivery of order. Return must be initiated within 30-day-return window. For complete return policy, consult Refnd Policy under Quick Links.

View full details